The Memory Bell by Kat Flannery

2

The Memory Bell
by Kat Flannery
September 1-30, 2021 Tour

Synopsis:

Grace Penner’s safe haven crumbles when a body is found outside of town.

Gifted the memory bell, a family heirloom, from her grandfather’s will, Grace’s excitement is soon squashed when the bell gets broken right after she receives it. While gluing the pieces back in place, she discovers three are still missing.

Determined to find them, she is halted when the new detective, Bennet James, investigates her family. Grace is intent on showing the detective her family isn’t capable of murder, but as the investigation deepens, and pieces of the bell show up with ominous notes, Grace soon realizes the Penners are not what they seem. Amidst the tightly knit family; dark secrets, deception, and possibly even murder unfold.

Will Grace be able to save the family she loves more than anything without losing herself forever?

My Thoughts

About a chapter into this book I started getting strong Jodi Picoult vibes. Kat Flannery is skilled at creating flawed but strong characters living complicated lives. Here, a murder starts to slowly peel back years of lies, cruelty, and deception as terrible things are revealed.

I found Grace a bit inconsistent – sometimes a strong, capable women and other times not so much…but isn’t that all of us? Her budding relationship with detective Bennet James was predictable but sweet, adding a bit of romance to an otherwise messy murder story.

Overall, this is a well-plotted and well-written mystery that will appeal to fans of Picoult and Liane Moriarty.

Praise for The Memory Bell:

“A naïve small-town girl and a disillusioned big-city cop, drawn together by an unsolved crime that is itself only the tip of the iceberg, The Memory Bell serves up the perfect steamy summer read.”
–Jenny Jaeckel, author of House of Rougeaux

“The story moves beyond a small town whodunit to probe the underlying bonds of history that connect a family.”
-Midwest Book Review

“Wonderful, engaging, and fast-paced! Flannery knows what she’s doing!”
-Jonas Saul, author of the Sarah Roberts series

Author Bio:

Kat Flannery’s love of history shows in her novels. She is an avid reader of historical, suspense, paranormal, and romance. A member of many writing Kat enjoys promoting other authors on her blog. When she’s not busy writing, or marketing Kat volunteers her time to other aspiring authors. She has been a keynote speaker, lecturer and guest author inspiring readers and writers at every event she attends. Kat’s been published in numerous periodicals throughout her career, and continues to write for blogs and online magazines. A bestselling author, Kat’s books are available all over the world. The BRANDED TRILOGY is Kat’s award-winning series. With seven books published, Kat continues to plot what story will be next. Creativity is in all aspects of Kat’s career. She does Social Media and Marketing for her own career and businesses, writing ads, and other content.

Catch Up With Kat Flannery:
www.KatFlannery.com/Books-1
Goodreads
BookBub – @KatFlannery
Instagram – @katflannery_
Twitter – @KatFlannery1
Facebook – @kat.flannery.5

Tour Participants:

Visit these other great hosts on this tour for more great reviews, interviews, guest posts, and giveaways!

Click here to view The Memory Bell by Kat Flannery Tour Hosts

2 comments on “The Memory Bell by Kat Flannery

  1. kflannery5 says:

    WOW! Thank you so much for the amazing compliment. I am honoured and grateful. Jodi Picoult is an awesome author.

    Like

  2. Wendy B says:

    Ooo, I love Jodi Picoult! I used to read a lot of her books. In my opinion that is a huge compliment to this author!
    Thanks for the review!

    Like