Most Anticipated Books in 2014

2

When I was assembling my “Best of 2013” lists, I also asked friends, family and colleagues what books they were most anticipating in 2014. Quite a variety!

January 2014

Lost Lake by Sarah Addison Allen – Patricia Uttaro – From the author of New York Times bestseller Garden Spells comes a beautiful, haunting story of old loves and new, and the power of the connections that bind us forever…

Still Life with Breadcrumbs by Anna Quindlen – Patricia Uttaro – Still Life with Bread Crumbs begins with an imagined gunshot and ends with a new tin roof. Between the two is a wry and knowing portrait of Rebecca Winter, a photographer whose work made her an unlikely heroine for many women. Her career is now descendent, her bank balance shaky, and she has fled the city for the middle of nowhere. There she discovers, in a tree stand with a roofer named Jim Bates, that what she sees through a camera lens is not all there is to life.

Hollow City by Ransom Riggs – Patricia Uttaro – This sequel to Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended. Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

Pandemic by Scott Sigler – John Scalzo (Irondequoit Library) – The entire human race balances on the razor’s edge of annihilation, beset by an enemy that turns our own bodies against us, that changes normal people into psychopaths or transforms them into nightmares.

February 2014

Museum of Extraordinary Things by Alice Hoffamn – Patricia Uttaro -With its colorful crowds of bootleggers, heiresses, thugs, and idealists, New York itself becomes a riveting character as Hoffman weaves her trademark magic, romance, and masterful storytelling to unite Coralie and Eddie in a sizzling, tender, and moving story of young love in tumultuous times. The Museum of Extraordinary Things is Alice Hoffman at her most spellbinding.

One Way Out: The Inside History of the Allman Brothers Band by Alan Paul – Patricia Uttaro – One Way Out is the powerful biography of The Allman Brothers Band, an oral history written with the band’s participation and filled with original, never-before-published interviews as well as personal letters and correspondence. This is the most in-depth look at a legendary American rock band that has meant so much to so many for so long.

March 2014

To Dwell in Darkness by Deborah Crombie – Patricia Uttaro – A favorite series! In the tradition of Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and P. D. James, New York Times bestselling author Deborah Crombie delivers a powerful tale of intrigue, betrayal, and lies that will plunge married London detectives Duncan Kincaid and Gemma James into the unspeakable darkness that lies at the heart of murder.

Not Cool: The Hipster Elite and Their War on You by Greg Gutfield – Patricia Uttaro – From politics to the personal, from fashion to food, from the campus to the locker room, the desire to be cool has infected  all aspects of our lives. At its most harmless, it is annoying. At its worst, it is deadly, on a massive scale.  The Cool are the termites of life, infiltrating every nook and cranny and destroying it from within. The Cool report the news, write the scripts, teach our children, run our government—and each day they pass judgment on those who don’t worship their coolness.  The cool fawn over terrorists, mock the military, and denigrate employers. They are, in short, awful people.

The Wicked by Douglas Nicholas – Patricia Uttaro – Something evil has come to reside in a castle by the chill waters of the North Sea: men disappear and are found as horribly wizened corpses, knights ride out and return under an enchantment that dulls their minds. Both the townspeople and the court under Sir Odinell’s protection live in fear, terrorized by forces beyond human understanding. But rumors of a wise woman blessed with mysterious powers also swirl about the land. The call goes forth, and so it comes to be that young apprentice Hob and his adopted family—exiled Irish queen Molly, her granddaughter Nemain, and warrior Jack Brown—are pitted against a malevolent nobleman and his beautiful, wicked wife.

April 2014

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige – Patricia Uttaro – The other girl from Kansas must travel to Oz to deal with a power-hungry, corrupt Dorothy.

Pigeon Needs a Bath by Mo Willems – Tonia Burton (Central Library) – The Pigeon needs a bath! Except, the Pigeon’s not so sure about that. Besides, he took a bath last month! Maybe. It’s going to take some serious convincing to get the Pigeon to take the plunge.

June 2014

Written in My Own Heart’s Blood by Diana Gabaldon – Sally Snow (Monroe County Library System) – In her now classic novel Outlander, Diana Gabaldon told the story of Claire Randall, an English ex-combat nurse who walks through a stone circle in the Scottish Highlands in 1946, and disappears . . . into 1743. The story unfolded from there in seven bestselling novels, and CNN has called it “a grand adventure written on a canvas that probes the heart, weighs the soul and measures the human spirit across [centuries].” Now the story continues in Written in My Own Heart’s Blood.

July 2014

The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness – Patricia Uttaro – After traveling through time in Shadow of Night, the second book in Deborah Harkness’s enchanting series, historian and witch Diana Bishop and vampire scientist Matthew Clairmont return to the present to face new crises and old enemies. At Matthew’s ancestral home at Sept-Tours, they reunite with the cast of characters from A Discovery of Witches—with one significant exception.

August 2014

Lock In by John Scalzi – John Scalzo (Irondequoit Library) – Fifteen years from now, a new virus sweeps the globe. 95% of those afflicted experience nothing worse than fever and headaches. Four percent suffer acute meningitis, creating the largest medical crisis in history. And one percent find themselves “locked in”—fully awake and aware, but unable to move or respond to stimulus.

Disclaimer: all links go to Amazon, and annotations have been borrowed from there as well.

 

2 comments on “Most Anticipated Books in 2014

  1. We have our countdown timer set for July 15, 2014 – The Book of Life by Deborah Harkness is highly anticipated. The conclusion of the trilogy? We can’t wait!

  2. I love Alice Hoffman – it will be good to read another one of her books! I also have two teen books on my list: Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor, and Landry Park (described as Downton Abbey meets “The Selection”. Adult books I am interested in are Thirty Girls by Susan Minot (Feb), “All the Light we cannot see” By Anthony Doerr (May), and The Lobster Kings by Alexi Zentner.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s