Woman in Shadow by Carrie Stuart Parks

2

July 12-23, 2021 Tour

Woman in Shadow by Carrie Stuart Parks

Carrie Stuart Parks combines her expertise as a forensic artist with her ability to craft a gripping story in this page-turning web of light and shadow.

A woman off the grid.

Darby Graham thinks she’s on a much-needed vacation in remote Idaho to relax. But before she even arrives at the ranch, an earthquake strikes—her first clue that something is amiss. Then when a cabin on the edge of town is engulfed in flames and problems at the ranch escalate, Darby finds herself immersed in a chilling mystery.

A town on fire.

A serial arsonist sends taunting letters to the press after each fire. As a forensic linguist, this is Darby’s area of expertise . . . but the scars it’s caused her also the reason she’s trying to escape from her life.

A growing darkness.

As the shadows continue to move in, the pieces of the town around her come into sharper focus. Can she trust the one man who sees her clearly?

Review

Fans of fast-paced, taut suspense novels will find this one by Carrie Stuart Parks one that can’t be put down. The wounded but smart protagonist appeals to the reader right away and you just know she’s going to triumph over the bad guys.

The author does a slow-reveal of the reasons for Darby’s presence at the isolated ranch, culminating in a really heartbreaking scene. At the same time, Stuart Parks does a good job of building relationships between Darby and those at the ranch, which all play into the starting ending.

The storyline is engaging and tricky enough that the revelations towards the end are unexpected and the end itself quite satisfying. I appreciate an author who can write mysteries with eloquence and flair, and Stuart Parks demonstrates that skill over and over here. Fans of Douglas Preston, Kathy Reichs, and Lisa Scottoline will enjoy this.

Praise for Woman in Shadow:

“Unique, witty, and hilarious, Carrie’s voice shines throughout Woman in Shadow. The perfect mix of intrigue, mystery and danger, this is most definitely a book for my keeper shelf.”
Dani Pettrey, bestselling author of the Coastal Guardians series

Book Details:

Genre: Mystery/Suspense
Published by: Thomas Nelson
Publication Date: July 13th 2021
Number of Pages: 336
ISBN: 0785239847 (ISBN13: 9780785239840)
Series: Woman in Shadow is not a part of a series.
Purchase Links: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads

Author Bio:

Carrie Stuart Parks

Carrie Stuart Parks is a Christy, multiple Carol, and Inspy Award–winning author. She was a 2019 finalist in the Daphne du Maurier Award for excellence in mainstream mystery/suspense and has won numerous awards for her fine art as well. An internationally known forensic artist, she travels with her husband, Rick, across the US and Canada teaching courses in forensic art to law-enforcement professionals. The author/illustrator of numerous books on drawing and painting, Carrie continues to create dramatic watercolors from her studio in the mountains of Idaho.

Catch Up With Carrie:

www.CarrieStuartParks.com
Goodreads
BookBub – @CarrieStuartParks
Instagram – @CarrieStuartParks
Facebook – @CarrieStuartParksAuthor

Or Join the Conversation on Twitter – #CarrieStuartParks

2 comments on “Woman in Shadow by Carrie Stuart Parks

  1. Thank you so much for the posting!
    -Carrie

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wendy B says:

    Thanks so much for the review!
    I am reading this right now and loving it !
    I connected with Darby, the main character and genuinely liked her right away.

    Liked by 1 person