A Child Lost by Michele Cox

2

Join Us For This Tour from April 14 to May 11, 2020

 

BOOK DETAILS:
  • Series Title A CHILD LOST (A Henrietta and Inspector Howard Novel #5) by Michelle Cox
  • Category:  Adult Fiction (18+)
  • Genre Historical Mystery
  • Publisher She Writes Press
  • Release dates:   April 2020
  • Content Rating: R: My book is rated R for 2 sex scenes
    that are somewhat explicit but which are tastefully done. There is
    periodic swearing (not excessive), but no violence.

BOOK DESCRIPTION:

A spiritualist, an insane asylum, a lost little girl . . .

When Clive, anxious to distract a depressed Henrietta, begs Sergeant
Frank Davis for a case, he is assigned to investigating a seemingly
boring affair: a spiritualist woman operating in an abandoned
schoolhouse on the edge of town who is suspected of robbing people of
their valuables. What begins as an open and shut case becomes more
complicated, however, when Henrietta―much to Clive’s dismay―begins to
believe the spiritualist’s strange ramblings.

Meanwhile, Elsie begs Clive and Henrietta to help her and the object of
her budding love, Gunther, locate the whereabouts of one Liesel
Klinkhammer, the German woman Gunther has traveled to America to find
and the mother of the little girl, Anna, whom he has brought along with
him. The search leads them to Dunning Asylum, where they discover some
terrible truths about Liesel. When the child, Anna, is herself
mistakenly admitted to the asylum after an epileptic fit, Clive and
Henrietta return to Dunning to retrieve her. This time, however,
Henrietta begins to suspect that something darker may be happening. When
Clive doesn’t believe her, she decides to take matters into her own
hands . . . with horrifying results.

This is a new series for me, so I realized early in the book that I really needed to read the earlier entries to have a better understanding of the character dynamics here. Even so, I was able to read through the story and follow the plot without issue. The story stands alone; it’s just the relationship histories of the characters that left me puzzled a couple times.

The plot is well-designed, with plenty of action and suspense that will keep you turning pages. Fans of historical/paranormal mysteries will especially enjoy the spiritualism and asylum elements here, climaxing in Henrietta’s harrowing scene at the end. The author also leaves us with a tasty little morsel on the very last page which foreshadows the next entry in the series (I think!).

Michele Cox is an author new to me, and my experience with A Child Lost will make me find her earlier books. Fans of Sarah Rayne and M.J. Rose will enjoy this.

MEET THE AUTHOR:Michelle Cox is the author of the multiple award-winning Henrietta and Inspector Howard series as well as “Novel Notes of Local Lore,” a weekly
blog dedicated to Chicago’s forgotten residents. She suspects she may have once lived in the 1930s and, having yet to discover a handy time machine lying around, has resorted to writing about the era as a way of getting herself back there. Coincidentally, her books have been praised by Kirkus, Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, Booklist and many others,
so she might be on to something. Unbeknownst to most, Michelle hoards board games she doesn’t have time to play and is, not surprisingly, addicted to period dramas and big band music. Also marmalade.

Connect with the Author:

website ~ facebook ~twitter ~ instagram ~ goodreads

 

TOUR SCHEDULE:

 

April 14 – Working Mommy Journal – book review / giveaway

April 15 – fundinmental – book spotlight / giveaway

April 16 – It’s All About the Book – book review

April 17 – Laura’s Interests – book review / guest post / giveaway

Apr 17 – Books,Dreams,Life – book spotlight / guest post

April 20 – Hall Ways Blog – book review / giveaway

April 20 – I’m All About Books – book spotlight / giveaway

April 21 – T’s Stuff – book review / author interview / giveaway

April 21 – eBook Addicts – book spotlight / giveaway

April 22 – Books and Zebras – book review

April 22 – Olio by Marilyn – book review / author interview / giveaway

April 22 – Book Corner News and Reviews – book review / giveaway

April 23 – Sahar’s Blog – book review

April 24 – The World As I See It – book review

April 24 – Just Another Reader – book review

April 27 – Literary Flits – book spotlight / giveaway

April 27 – The avid reader – book spotlight

April 28 – She Just Loves Books – book review / giveaway

April 28 – michellemengsbookblog – book review

April 29 – Locks, Hooks and Books – book review / giveaway

April 29 – A Madison Mom – book review / giveaway

April 29 – Mowgli with a book – book review

April 30 – Library of Clean Reads – book review / author interview / giveaway

May 1 – Jazzy Book Reviews – book spotlight / guest post / giveaway

May 3 – Jessica Belmont – book review

May 4 – Gwendalyn’s Books – book review / giveaway

May 4 – Adventurous Jessy – book review / giveaway

May 4 – Books, Tea, Healthy Me – book review / author interview / giveaway

May 5 – Falling Into A Good Book – book review / giveaway

May 6 – Leels Loves Books – book review / giveaway

May 6 – Down the Rabbit Hole – book review / guest post / giveaway

May 7 – Karma Readz – book review / author interview / giveaway

 

ENTER THE GIVEAWAY:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

2 comments on “A Child Lost by Michele Cox

  1. newcoxchapter says:

    Thanks so much for this fabulous review, Patricia! I really appreciate your thoughtful comments!!

    Like

  2. Lauren Carr says:

    Thank you so much for the great review of this intriguing and exciting mystery and series.

    Liked by 1 person